Lizzard Running with Shears

Friday, June 27, 2008

Hancock

Saw the movie yesterday at a screening. Here are my quick thoughts on the movie.


  1. Will Smith plays an excellent flawed super-hero.

  2. Movie was a little short. Sometimes I like this but other times I don't - see point 3.

  3. The plot line of Hancock's past definitely could have been blown out more and would have only added another 1/2 hour to the movie at most. (Most important point)

  4. Not enough Jason Bateman. The guy was hysterical.

  5. Charlize Theron was beautiful. Whoever did her hair I would love to have as my friend.

Ultimately, I love Will Smith. The guy can do no wrong. Loved him in The Pursuit of Happyness. Hell - I even loved him in I am Legend which gave me nightmares for days and I just remembered I need to add Omega Man to my summer reading list. If Sony doesn't do a sequel they should definitely do a prequel or two.


3 1/2 Stars out of 5.

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Coffee and Cigarettes

SMELL AWFUL ON YOUR BREATH!
Chew gum, rinse your mouth out, brush your teeth... i don't care what you do but it fucking stinks. It especially smells when you just finished your "break" of smoking and drinking coffee and come directly to me to chat. The gum I offered you and backing away with a green face are obviously not hints. Please be courteous to others and do something about your breath.

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Cash Bar at Weddings

It is unacceptable. Would you invite someone to your house for dinner and then ask them to give you $40? No. Why? Because it is rude.

If you are getting married in an area where majority of the people have to either fly or drive to attend and stay in a hotel - don't have a cash bar.

We have an instance where we have to fly out of the country, drive an additional couple of hours and stay in a one star establishment (only thing available) in BFN (we've moved past BFE). Of course we're giving a gift because we will not attend a wedding without giving a gift. So how can I, based on principal, attend a wedding where I'm already dropping $2k and then be told that I had to stop at an ATM on the way to the reception because I have to pay for my drinks too?

Now in defense of weddings - I know they are expensive. There are rules on etiquette however. If you can't afford an open bar than don't have one at all. You can have people drink coffee, tea and soda at very little cost and not look tacky.

My personal belief is that says volumes that you are willing to drop thousands on yourself and expect thousands in return but won't offer beverages. May as well make it a BYOB.