Cash Bar at Weddings
It is unacceptable. Would you invite someone to your house for dinner and then ask them to give you $40? No. Why? Because it is rude.
If you are getting married in an area where majority of the people have to either fly or drive to attend and stay in a hotel - don't have a cash bar.
We have an instance where we have to fly out of the country, drive an additional couple of hours and stay in a one star establishment (only thing available) in BFN (we've moved past BFE). Of course we're giving a gift because we will not attend a wedding without giving a gift. So how can I, based on principal, attend a wedding where I'm already dropping $2k and then be told that I had to stop at an ATM on the way to the reception because I have to pay for my drinks too?
Now in defense of weddings - I know they are expensive. There are rules on etiquette however. If you can't afford an open bar than don't have one at all. You can have people drink coffee, tea and soda at very little cost and not look tacky.
My personal belief is that says volumes that you are willing to drop thousands on yourself and expect thousands in return but won't offer beverages. May as well make it a BYOB.

1 Comments:
I hear ya!!!! If you must have a bar, cut back on certain items - like flowers, cake or dessert bar. But, please don't make people pay for anything at your wedding! That is just tacky.
Post a Comment
<< Home