Lizzard Running with Shears

Sunday, April 14, 2013

A day at the park

Looking good for spring.



Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Laundromat lost all of my clothes

The Brooklyn Heights Laundromat located at 132 Montague Street in Brooklyn Heights, NY lost all of my clothing. We went to pick up our laundry before we were leaving for a trip and guess what - the 40 pounds that we dropped off some how turned into 10 pounds after being washed and folded. How could this happen? Let me tell you what they told us.

Another customer of theirs came into the laundromat on Thursday night and took our full 40 pound bag of clothing. He returned later that night with the bag and 10 pounds of clothing in it. He told the owners that he would bring the rest of the clothing back but it was all mixed in and he had to go through it. The owners then proceeded to take our bag of clothing, put it back on the shelf and then let him walk out with his real bag of clothing. Well, he never brought back any of the clothing. The only clothing in the bag was some of my husbands - none of mine or our towels and sheets. The owners said they were expecting the guy to return the clothes that weekend. Well, its been almost 2 weeks now and there's been no clothes.

So here is what pisses me off.

1) The owners give tickets to every customer. The ticket has the number. This ticket is how you identify your bag. This allows them to make sure they give you the correct bag. The owners didn't even bother to look at the ticket and let some guy take a bag of clothing without checking to make sure it was the right bag.

2) Owners weren't suspicious when this guy came back with only a quarter of the clothes and said he had to go through them to sort them. Um hello! They don't do everyone's laundry together. They do them in separate washers and dryers. How could my laundry and his laundry end up in the same bag?

3) They let him take another bag of clothing and not demand that he bring the original bag of clothing back and sort them there. Why wouldn't you think something was suspicious and demand he bring back all the clothes before he could take his own?

4) The owners gave us our 10 pound bag of clothing and pretended like everything was ok until we mentioned that the bag was slightly lighter than when we dropped it off - like 30 pounds lighter!

5) The owners said they didn't do anything wrong and actually had the F'ing nerve to point out the disclaimer on the ticket which says that they will pay up to five times the amount of the laundry charge for lost or damaged items. Well guess again asshats! Lost means you don't know where my clothes are who took them. Damaged means I have my clothes but you damaged them. Giving away my clothes to someone else through neglect is another case all together.

6) I have to take time out of my day to take the SOB's to small claims court because they wanted to give me $500 for close to $2000 worth of clothing.

7) The rage and anger that I've been working on for 6 months to diminish is back in full force and unfortunately the laundromat is going to bare the brunt of it.

8) 95% of the items were 4 months old or less! There is time and effort involved in those clothing items. Traveling, sorting through racks of clothing, trying on numerous articles of clothing and finally finding pieces that fit me and look decent.

Seriously - their job is not hard. Lights, darks, hot, cold, fold.... match numbers up and give clothing to people that have the ticket that matches the laundry bag. It's not rocket science.

The saga of missing clothes continues.

Wednesday, July 02, 2008

Help Save Wild Mustangs

I hate toting my own personal beliefs onto other people unless I think they deserve it (deoderant was created to help end my suffering from other people's pits). This one I believe in because a) I love horses and b) I love horses. My biggest dream is to be able to have enough money to retire before I'm 40 and open up a ranch (shopping has to be within an hour though). So - the Bureau of Land Management www.blm.gov is considering euthanizing the wild Mustang population. Wild Mustangs once ran free across our country, became symbolic of one of the greatest muscle cars of our times (Ford Mustang for you people who are still trying to figure that one out) and I think gave hope to people.

I know saying "Hope" sounds odd but I think it fits. There's a hope that we don't ruin all of the land and make cities. There's a hope that life used to simpler and beautiful. I am far from idealistic but wild Mustangs are the main reason I want to go west and see Wyoming and Montana. I want to ride on a horse and come over a crest over looking a valley and see a herd of wild Mustangs running free. Anyway...

I know writing a letter or signing a petition is often looked upon as annoying and a hassle. So my direct course of action is to donate to the Mustang Heritage Foundation www.mustangheritagefoundation.org . I live in NYC where I can't have a horse - I totally would if I could though. So I'm going to donate in hopes that my one little action can help a herd of wild Mustangs continue to roam free. One day I'd like to see them in that valley instead of in a book where they show pictures of wild Mustangs now extinct.

Friday, June 27, 2008

Hancock

Saw the movie yesterday at a screening. Here are my quick thoughts on the movie.


  1. Will Smith plays an excellent flawed super-hero.

  2. Movie was a little short. Sometimes I like this but other times I don't - see point 3.

  3. The plot line of Hancock's past definitely could have been blown out more and would have only added another 1/2 hour to the movie at most. (Most important point)

  4. Not enough Jason Bateman. The guy was hysterical.

  5. Charlize Theron was beautiful. Whoever did her hair I would love to have as my friend.

Ultimately, I love Will Smith. The guy can do no wrong. Loved him in The Pursuit of Happyness. Hell - I even loved him in I am Legend which gave me nightmares for days and I just remembered I need to add Omega Man to my summer reading list. If Sony doesn't do a sequel they should definitely do a prequel or two.


3 1/2 Stars out of 5.

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Coffee and Cigarettes

SMELL AWFUL ON YOUR BREATH!
Chew gum, rinse your mouth out, brush your teeth... i don't care what you do but it fucking stinks. It especially smells when you just finished your "break" of smoking and drinking coffee and come directly to me to chat. The gum I offered you and backing away with a green face are obviously not hints. Please be courteous to others and do something about your breath.

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Cash Bar at Weddings

It is unacceptable. Would you invite someone to your house for dinner and then ask them to give you $40? No. Why? Because it is rude.

If you are getting married in an area where majority of the people have to either fly or drive to attend and stay in a hotel - don't have a cash bar.

We have an instance where we have to fly out of the country, drive an additional couple of hours and stay in a one star establishment (only thing available) in BFN (we've moved past BFE). Of course we're giving a gift because we will not attend a wedding without giving a gift. So how can I, based on principal, attend a wedding where I'm already dropping $2k and then be told that I had to stop at an ATM on the way to the reception because I have to pay for my drinks too?

Now in defense of weddings - I know they are expensive. There are rules on etiquette however. If you can't afford an open bar than don't have one at all. You can have people drink coffee, tea and soda at very little cost and not look tacky.

My personal belief is that says volumes that you are willing to drop thousands on yourself and expect thousands in return but won't offer beverages. May as well make it a BYOB.

Monday, February 18, 2008

Where did the energy go?

Got married. Got a dog. Got a pseudo-promotion at work. Was moved to a much bigger account. No kids. Where did my energy go? Is it the crazy globally warmed weather that is sapping me of strength? How on earth do other people manage crazy lives with much more responsibility than me and still have energy? Can someone please let me know where to find Ephedra filled products. I use to have energy then.